Diocesan Synod

Every diocese has its own Diocesan Synod consisting of bishops, archdeacons, elected laity and elected clergy. Diocesan Synod has a varied and wide ranging role in the governance of the diocese.  It considers matters affecting the Church of England in the diocese; it advises the diocesan bishop where requested to do so; it acts as a forum for debate of Christian opinion on matters of religious or public interest; it formulates diocesan policy on a wide range of issues; it deals with matters referred to it by General Synod. You can download a copy of the Diocesan Synod Standing Orders here.

Diocesan Synod papers are issued from the office of the Diocesan Secretary. Please contact sharon.welbourne@peterborough-diocese.org.uk